Safe Travel for All Children: Instructor Database

To find a special needs instructor you can search the Safe Kids website for a certified child passenger safety technician who have successfully completed “Safe Travel for All Children: Transporting Children with Special Healthcare Needs.”

  • Click on “Find a Technician/Instructor.”
  • In the CPS Technician Search: FIND A TECH box, scroll down to the Extra Training field.
  • Click on “Special Needs” in the Extra Training field.
  • You can limit your search to a specific state or postal code by first completing those fields in the FIND A TECH box.

To search for individuals who have been approved to instruct the training, select a state or all states on the database below to view the list.



Sara Penisten
Providence Alaska Medical Center, Safe Kids Alaska
3200 Providence Dr.
Anchorage, AK 99508

907-212-3194
safekidsak@providence.org

Angelica Baker
Phoenix Children's Hospital
1919 E. Thomas Rd. Suite 122C
Phoenix, AZ 85016

602-933-3353
ambaker@phoenixchildrens.com

Blanca Villasenor
Phoenix Children's Hospital
1919 E. Thomas Road
Phoenix, AZ 85016

602-933-3355
bvillasenor@phoenixchildrens.com

Traci Aoki-Tan
Kaiser Foundation Hospital, Child Life Dept., Safe Kids
Women's and Children's Center
1600 Eureka Rd.
Roseville, CA 95661

916-474-7658
traci.h.aoki@kp.org

Helen Arbogast
Children's Hospial of Los Angeles
4650 Sunset Blvd. #85
Los Angeles, CA 90027

323-361-4697
harbogast@chla.usc.edu

Caroline Langrall
Roseville, CA

410-937-7157
carolinelangrall@gmail.com

Erin Malone
County of Riverside Dept of Public Health
4065 County Circle Drive
Riverside, CA 92503

951-396-1490
emalone@ricvocha.org

Cathi Kellett
Griffin Hospital
Derby, CT 06418

203-732-1337
ckellett@griffinhealth.org

Cindy Sanekane
Tripler Army Medical Center
Honolulu, HI 96859

808-741-6043
cindy.s.sanekane.civ@mail.mil

Cora Speck
The Queen's Medical Center
1301 Punchbowl Street
Honolulu, HI 96813

808-691-4020
cspeck@queens.org

Jill Taosaka
Kapi'olani Medical Center
Honolulu, HI 96826

808-483-4917
jillt@kapiolani.org

Craig Sjogerman
La Rabida Children's Hospital
6501 S. Promontory Dr.
Chicago , IL 60649

773-256-5748
csjoger@larabida.org

Kathy Youngman
Children's Hospital of Illinois
530 NE Glen Oak Ave.
Peoria, IL 61637

309-624-5905
kathy.r.youngman@osfhealthcare.org

Marilyn J. Bull, M.D.
Riley Hospital for Children
705 Riley Hospital Drive
Indianapolis, IN 46202

317-944-4846
mbull@iu.edu

Michelle Chappelow
Riley Hospiatl for Children
705 Riley Hospital Drive
Indianapolis, IN 46202

317-944-1235
mchappel@iuhealth.org

Joseph O'Neil, MD
Riley Hospital for Children/Automotive Safety Program
705 Riley Hospital Drive
Indianapolis, IN 46202

317-944-4846
joeoneil@iu.edu

Jason Skinner
Automotive Safety Program, Riley Hospital for Children at IU Health
Fesler Hall Room 207
1130 W. Michigan Street
Indianapolis, IN 46202

317-274-6716
jasaskin@iu.edu

Judith Talty
Automotive Safety Program/National Center
Fesler Hall Room 207
1130 W. Michigan Street
Indianapolis, IN 46202

317-278-1085
jtalty@iu.edu

Janell Yonkman
Automotive Safety Program, Riley Hospital for Children at IU Health
Fesler Hall Room 207
1130 W. Michigan Street
Indianapolis, IN 46202

317-278-6878
janell.havey@gmail.com

Ronda Lusk
Via Christi Outreach and Prevention, Safe Kids Wichita
2622 W. Central Suite 102
Wichita, KS 67203

316-946-5045
ronda.lusk@viachristi.org

Emilie B.K. Crown
Montgomery County Fire Rescue Service
100 Edison Park Drive, 2nd Floor
Gaithersburg, MD 20878

240-777-2467
emilie.crown@montgomerycountymd.gov

Lori Brinkey
University of Michigan Health System
1500 E. Medical Center Drive, Room F2593
Ann Arbor, MI 48109

734-971-8286
lbrinkey@med.umich.edu

Kelley Miller
Helen DeVos Children's Hospital
100 Michigan Street NE
Grand Rapids, MI 49503

269-823-3585
Kelley.Miller@spectrumhealth.org

Dan Santioni
University of Michigan Pediatric Rehab Center
2205 Commonwealth Blvd
Ann Arbor, MI 48105

734-763-2554
dsantion@umich.edu

Donna Thompson
C.S. Mott Children's Hospital
1500 E. Medical Center Drive
Ann Arbor, MI 48109

734-232-8321
donnat@umich.edu

Shannon Bernal
Children's Mercy Hospital and Clinics
2401 Gillham Road
Kansas City, MO 64108

816-234-1607
smbernal@cmh.edu

Phyllis Larimore
Children's Mercy Hospital and Clinics
2401 Gillham Road
Kansas City, MO 64108

816-234-1607
plarimore@cmh.edu

Theresa Cromling
Duke Children's Hospital, Safe Kids
2301 Erwin Road
Durham, NC 27710

919-323-5073 x218
theresa.cromling@duke.edu

Victoria Killough
Safe Kids WNC, Mission Children's Hospital
520 Biltmore Ave Suite C
Asheville, NC 2881

828-213-5544
Victoria.Killough@msj.org

Kristin Luethke
Madonna Rehabilitation Hospital
5401 South Street
Lincoln, NE 68506

402-413-3720
kluethke@madonna.org

Sheryl Ohrt
Good Samaritan Hospital, Tri Cities SAFE KIDS
3818 Avenue G.
Kearney, NE 68847

308-440-4991
sherylohrt@catholichealth.net

Brandee Otto
Children's Hospital and Medical Center
8200 Dodge Street
Omaha, NE 68114

402-955-6352
botto@childrensomaha.org

Carissa Hodgdon
Children's Hospital at Dartmouth
Lebanon, NH 03756

802-291-1290
Carissa.N.Hodgdon@Hitchcock.org

Cindy Tuttle
Concord Hospital
250 Pleasant Street
Concord, NH 03045

503-227-7000
ctuttle@crhc.org

Jackie Stackhouse Leach
Morristown Medical Center - Injury Prevention
100 Madison Avenue
Morristown, NJ 07960

908-887-5736
jackieleach@comcast.net

Karen Conti
Blythedale Children's Hospital
95 Bradhurst Avenue
Valhalla, NY 10595

914-592-7555 x723
karenc@blythedale.org

Sarah Haverstick
Evenflo Company, Inc.
225 Byers Road
Miamisburg, OH 45342

937-415-3114
Sarah.Haverstick@evenflo.com

Kellie O'Riordan
Toledo Children's Hospital
2142 N Cove Blvd
Toledo, OH 43606

419-291-8487
Kellie.ORiordan@ProMedica.org

Tamara Franks
Randall Children's Hospital at Legacy Emanuel
2801 N. Gantenbein, EH-5201
Portland, OR 97227

503-413-4665
tfranks@lhs.org

Mary Jones
Kidnetics
701 Grove Road
Greenville, SC 29605

864-331-1355
mjones3@ghs.org

Kathy Moody
Safe Kids Upstate South Carolina
255 Enterprise Blvd. Suite 110
Greenville, SC 29615

864-454-1108
kharper@ghs.org

Sharon Evans
Cook Children's Medical Center
801 Seventh Avenue
Fort Worth, TX 76104

682-885-3956
sharon.evans@cookchildrens.org

Marissa Rodriguez
Parkland Health & Hospital System
6300 Harry Hines Blvd Ste 240
Dallas, TX 75235

214-590-4454
marissa.rodriguez@phhs.org

Magdalena Santillan
Cook Children's Hospital
6900 Penhurst Drive
Fort Worth, TX 76133

682-885-7242
magdalena.santillan@cookchildrens.org

Janet Brooks
Primary Children's Medical Center
100 N. Mario Capecchi Drive
Salt Lake City, UT 84113

801-662-6585
janet.brooks@imail.org

Marilyn Morris
Primary Children's Medical Center
100 N. Mario Capecchi Drive
Salt Lake City, UT 84113

801-662-6580
marilyn.morris@imail.org

Eileen Gerling
Children's Hospital of the King's Daughters
601 Children's Lane
Norfolk, VA 23507

757-668-7696
eileen.gerling@chkd.org

Cynthia Ruggles
Children's Hospital of the King's Daughters
601 Children's Lane
Norfolk, VA 23507

757-668-7861
cynthia.ruggles@chkd.org

Jim Savage
American Family Children's Hospital
1675 Highland Avenue
Madison, WI 53792

608-890-8041
jsavage@uwhealth.org